Welcome to the Friends of the Texas Room

Michael Bludworth Our Mission: The Friends of the Texas Room (FTxR) seeks to support the collections of the Texas and Local History Department, the Archives and Manuscripts Department, and the Special Collections Department of the Houston Metropolitan Research Center (HMRC) of the Houston Public Library.

The HMRC, the primary resource for the history of Houston, is housed in the Julia Ideson Building of the downtown Houston Public Library across from City Hall. The beautiful Spanish-Renaissance style building holds one of the largest collections of Texas history in the state.

Visit the Julia Ideson Building (Chapter 1 from the FTxR DVD In Search of Houston's History).

The FTxR qualifies under Section 501 (c) (3) IRS revenue service code.

In response to the COVID-19 pandemic, the FTxR Officers and Board of Directors have decided to conduct our quarterly Monday meetings virtually at 7:00 pm using a Zoom platform. Meetings are held the last Monday of the month. The Monday evening meetings are January 31st, April 25th, July 25th, and October 31st. Members may join the meetings by clicking on a link provided by FTxR and posted on this Welcome page of our website and in our quarterly newsletter The Dispatch.

Our Next Meeting: The January 31st, 2022, virtual meeting (7:00 – 8:30 pm) will feature Michael Bludworth. The title of the presentation is "An Evening with Aviation Historian Michael Bludworth.” Learn about the history of Houston's exciting aviation history from one of Houston's most engaging experts on the topic, Michael Bludworth, who is the founder of “Houston's Aviation History” and a long-time speaker and volunteer docent at the 1940 Air Terminal Museum. FTxR members, as well as the public, may join the meeting by using the following URL: https://bit.ly/FTXR01-31.

2022 Board of Directors:
President - Mister McKinney
Vice President - Susan Teich
Secretary - (Open Position)
Treasurer - Frank Jones
Jim Bailey
Nancy Burch
Anthony Cavender (Julia Ideson Award)
J.J. Gonzalez (Membership Chair)
Carol Haddock
Rebecca Harris
Jeff Lindemann (Dispatch Editor)
George Slaughter